Monday Night Writes

I was going to make a fancy schmancy header for this segment, but rather liked the vibe of the half mandala doodle peeking through from the other side so I made an ad-hoc header.  Perhaps one day I will grow into the type of blogger that prefers streamlined design over doodling with a crayon, but lucky for you that day is not today.

I’ve seen a lot of art journal prompts and even more pages, doodles and whatnots floating around on Pinterest, but I prefer times when I can combine my two loves of creative writing and art together. The very first prompt is really basic and merely “in a coma.” I love this prompt because it allowed me to make a weird doodle baby with images that make no sense mixed in with words that make even less sense than the pictures.   I opted use one run-on sentence of nonsense surrounding a doodle, but whatever you do is up to you and I can’t wait to see it!

I opted for bleeding watercolors over black ink doodles with colored pencil smeared over-top for a fugue state of insanity that looks bogged down by sleep.  I can’t wait to see how your Monday Night Write doodles turn out because for every person out there exists a different manifestation of the word “coma.”  If you don’t have a blog and want to send in your doodle, take a picture and tweet it to me or send it to me on instagram (my username is yeoldefort for both)!

