Every Summer Has a Story

Image

This summer has been cray.  I feel like one of those characters in a novel that tends to get romanticized for being eclectic and all over the place, but in the end everyone recognizes is filled with fault and not worth being the weird center of focus for the protagonist because they’re just a person.  That’s a feeling, right?  Perhaps that’s because all I’ve done when I haven’t been traveling all over the states of New Jersey and New York has been reading quality YA books published this year for my Mock Printz committee at work. Just maybe.  Sorta like Alaska in John Green’s Looking for Alaska without all the sad at the end.  Or who knows? Maybe there is sad to come, but hopefully not on the level of [insert spoiler here].  Life is funny like that.

Rather than try and shove all my summer into one post, I’m just going to recap the major players.  Life goes on and it is kind of October.  Kind of.  OK… it’s totally October and well past a summer update, but that’s how I do.

Image

I got to spend more time in the city this summer than I usually do.  Win.

Image

I got to spend more time with my family.  Double win.

Image

My library programs are poppin’.  My library programs are cool.  All the teens hung out here when they didn’t have school.  (pictured: the silence before the speakeasy storm)

Image

I went blonde and got me some bangs!  Booyah!

Image

First of all, shorteralls came back in style this summer and I was all. about. it. All about it.  I also felt much happier and freer than I have in a long time since James and I finally broke up once and for all in May.  It was sad at the time, but I’m quite happy with how things have been going 🙂

Image

As is the case with most breakups, I am loving the new time I have for my friends.  They are wonderful beings and I am so blessed!

Image

And despite being on a leave of absence due to an increased work load, I still had lots of derby in my life! Being friends with derby photographers means chilling with friends trackside in some of the best seats in the house!

All in all? A great summer! That said, I’m not suffering from any cases of summertime sadness (sorry, had to) because Autumn is my favorite season!!! Can’t wait to stomp on all the crumbly, crunchy leaves!


Follow my blog with Bloglovin
 

