Bout Days are the Best Days

Image

It’s been a ridiculously long time since I recapped my weekend and considering the weekend I just had, it seemed like a good time to start! The moment I left the library on Friday my entire focus shifted to the big bout I had on Saturday.  I went to practice and put my mind on the delicate balance of wanting to be prepared enough for an intense team while not over-exerting myself (or my teammates) before such a challenging game.  We then went out for dinner as a team to bond and get our heads into the game before meeting up again the next afternoon.

I don’t know about anyone else on my team, but I was buzzing with nervous energy.  I couldn’t sleep–I think I clocked in a total of 5 hours–I couldn’t sit still.  I was a mess.  By the time I arrived at the rink at 4:30 I was a vibrating ball of energy (those two cups of coffee I had didn’t help much) and I was just ready for the game to be over so I could stop being nervous. I’m not one for reviewing games I play in, mostly because I am my own biggest critic and I honestly don’t remember much aside from brief flashes since I often leave cognitive thought processes out of the game and just let loose into derby mode. Fortunately my team is lucky enough to have a hardcore awesome fan that reviews the game for us, so you should definitely check it out. All I know is, by the time I finished the final jam I was completely dead. I just passed out on the floor in a little ball and could not move. I have no idea how I even managed to stand up for pictures, or to collect my MVP trophy. I truly don’t. Oh yeah. I got MVP! That was fun, made even more awesome because JK Trolling won MVP for the other team.  Nerds are awesome and now we have trophies to prove it.

While I attended practice on Sunday, it was simply to watch (and to become too impatient to try out my new wheels only to get yelled at for being on skates when I should have been resting, but that’s a whole other story). I am impressed with my blockers and how well they were able to come together to play an intense team.  I’m more impressed with my ability to drive anywhere Sunday considering how much my arms STILL hurt, two days later.  My body is filled with all of the ow.  All of it.  Ever created.  It’s in my body.  After getting home from practice, I relaxed in the ballpit to watch some archived derby bouts from the D1 playoffs after contemplating the projects I want to accomplish this fall.  The picture in the top left corner is the view from my couch, showing the old windows I found on the side of the road, an adorable bookcase I got for $3 at a garage sale in desperate need of a paint job and the hutch I found on the side of the road finally transformed into an entertainment center.  I am often impatient to get my projects done, but I’m glad I have an organized plan on how to accomplish my goals.

P.s. I mentioned I was going to do a Mock Printz recap tonight, but I want to ruminate on what we talked about in the meeting a bit more before sharing my thoughts.

