Witches with my Bitches

salem1I recently watched Exit Through the Gift Shop on Netflix which is worth a gander if you’re into documentaries, street art, Banksy and/or silly French men.  I am into all of those things so it was a delightful experience. Well.  Except for the horrible realization that while I am not as bad as Mr. Brainwash (srsly watch it, I ain’t filling in those gaps for you) I hoard all sorts of digital content rather that place it on my blog like I intend to.  I have gotten better, but better isn’t the same thing as having post after post not written because too much time has gone by.  Better doesn’t help me out so much when I have to tell my friends to stay in an uncomfortable pose so I can delete enough pictures from my phone so I have storage space.  Actually, that part can be funny sometimes, but I can only take so many death glares!

salem2Some friends from the Jerzey Derby Brigade and I popped up to Salem, MA for the weekend.  It was a whole lot of fun, even if a little chilly.  So often I only see my friend in a derby context–whether it is events, practice, bouts, scrimmages–you name it, I bet you it is derby related.  It was nice getting to peek at another place and actually relax.  Did we talk about derby as we walked through the pop-up marketplace that sprouts up around Halloween?  Duh.

trolleyI highly recommend riding the red trolley.  Did I? No.  BUT Look at how much fun this balloon skeleton with a bum leg is having.  Seriously.  When was the last time you saw a skeleton that happy?

witchhouseWe did a lot of touristy Halloween things.  They were alright.  I think I will probably pass on doing stuff like that again until I have kids or go with my little sister.  There were a lot of unanswered questions and they never even let us see the body.  Please take note: if you are going to have a shrouded witch corpse as part of your bit, let me see some creepy hair patches coming off the skull or something.

gulagulaI want to eat breakfast sandwiches at Gulu Gulu Cafe all day long.  I did all there was to do in Salem so I probably won’t be back for a while, but this.  I want more of this.  GIVE ME YOUR SANDWICHES NOW.

buddhaI liked this detail at the Gulu Gulu Cafe.  I know, I know.  You get it.  I’m going to figure out some sort of way to extend the rights of marriage to include businesses and I’m going to propose because I want to eat that freaking sandwich again.  Guys, I don’t even like breakfast sandwiches normally so you don’t understand how epic this is for me.

thisguyWe went on a haunted pirate boat ride.  I love being out on the water.  I took a million pictures.  I included only one.  You’re welcome.

salem3On the boat, something went askew with my tights.  Fortunately I had my outfit photo done at the cafe I will continuously bring up for the duration of this post because I wanted to hang out with these bros for all eternity.  Look at this art.  Why wouldn’t I want to pose with a walrus in people clothes holding a mug of something with arms?

boatI snuck away from my crew to get some writing done.  Awesome grey clouds + historical buildings and boats on the water = inspiration.  Awesome grey clouds + historical buildings and boats on the water + a group of old women that chose my bench instead of all the other benches available on the dock = asinine.

cemOn the last day, I was too lazy to take a full outfit picture.  I was writing in Burying Point Cemetery (the oldest one) after getting chased away from the docks by the power grannies and just sorta snapped one.  Deal.

cem2In all seriousness, this is one of my favorite places in America.  Yes it is a bit touristy, and yes it is creepy, but so what?  I’m a creepy tourist sometimes and I like writing in cemeteries, particularly if I’m working on a vampire story.  Which I am.

